Energy Services


The City of Monroe Energy Services Department is committed to being the electric and natural gas supplier of choice for the citizens of Monroe and Union County.

About Us

Our department consists of two divisions: Electric and Natural Gas. Electric services have been provided to the citizens of Monroe since 1900, and natural gas services to Monroe citizens and Union County began in 1957.

We are dedicated to the distribution of electric and natural gas utility services to the City and its residents and to the restoration of those services in the event of service disruption or emergency.

Being a premier customer-owned and -financed energy supplier, our goals are to provide high-quality, safe, responsible, and reliable energy services that meet the individual needs of each valued customer.

Throughout the years and today, our promise to you remains: We will provide a cost-effective, courteous, and customer-oriented operation that will continually enhance the quality of life for our friendly hometown community.


the "move over law" protects the safety of utility employees. slow down when you see stopped utility vehicles - it's the law.