In accordance with Governor Roy Cooper’s Executive Order 124, the City of Monroe will do the following with respect to our residential utilities customers (water, sewer, gas and electric) from March 31, 2020 to May 30, 2020 (unless otherwise extended by Governor Cooper):

• The City Of Monroe will not disconnect utilities service for failure to pay a bill.

• The City Of Monroe will not charge a late fee, fee, interest, or penalty for a late payment or unpaid payment that's due from March 31 until the state of emergency ends.

• The City of Monroe will provide an opportunity for customers to enter into a repayment plan for all fees incurred during this period. The City will not charge for late fees or interest during the repayment plan.

• However, City of Monroe utility customers are still obliged and expected to pay their bills, even if it's through the repayment plan.